Newspaper Research Strategies Boot Camp – Saturday, 31 January 2015

Learn how to use a variety of newspaper resources for genealogy research at the Newspaper Research Strategies Boot Camp at HackGenealogy.

[NOTE: While this Boot Camp covers many newspapers and different research strategies, around a third of the focus will be on resources helpful to genealogy researchers in Australia and New Zealand. All webinar start times are shown for Australia and New Zealand.]

Through this special Boot Camp you’ll learn:

  • Which online newspaper resources are available for Australia, New Zealand and beyond including the United States, Canada and United Kingdom.
  • How to get the most out of newspaper articles and use the extracted information for research breakthroughs.
  • Which tools work best for capturing both newspaper images and text.
  • How to find unusual sections of newspapers for clues in finding ancestors.

You’ll receive over 3 hours of educational content, handouts and freebies for the low price of $12.95 USD! You’ll also receive access to the recorded versions of each webinar for up to one year!

Register by Monday, 26 January 2015 and receive over 23% off the registration price for a low $9.95 USD! Space is limited and if you register, but can’t attend, you’ll still receive the handouts, the freebies and access to the recordings!

 

Schedule

Saturday 31 January 2015
Duration: 3.5 hours (with a 30 minute break)

  • 10:00 am AEDT (Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Hobart) / 12:00 pm NZDT
    5:00 pm CST (Chicago) / 11:00 pm GMT (London) Friday 30 January 2015
    Welcome / Meet & Greet
  • 10:15 am AEDT / 12:15 pm NZDT
    5:15 pm CST / 11:15 pm GMT
    Digging for Treasure – Using Online Newspapers
    Michelle Patient
  • 11:30 am AEDT/ 1:30 pm NZDT
    6:30 pm CST / 12:30 am GMT Saturday 31 January 2015
    Break
  • 12:00 pm AEDT / 2:00 pm NZDT
    7:00 pm CST / 1:00 am GMT
    United States and Canada Newspaper Resources and Strategies
    Thomas MacEntee
  • 1:30 pm AEDT / 3:30 pm NZDT
    8:30 pm CST / 2:20 am GMT
    Closing and Thank You

Webinars

Digging for Treasure – Using Online Newspapers
Presented by: Michelle Patient

Online newspapers contain a wealth of valuable information to enhance and progress your family history research. Resources reviewed will include English, Scottish, Irish, Welsh, Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Topics to be covered:

  • Getting started
  • Which newspapers to use (it all isn’t in your local paper)
  • Types of information available and possible costs involved
  • How to dig deeper and wider
  • How newspapers can help break down brick walls
  • Search tips and tricks
  • Ways to use the information you find

United States and Canada Newspaper Resources and Strategies
Presented by: Thomas MacEntee

While online newspaper resources are plentiful for United States and Canada research, finding the best websites and tools to collect data can be a treasure hunt. Topics to be covered:

  • Review of best newspapers resources, free and fee
  • Using Google Newspapers
  • Capturing images and information
  • Oft-neglected newspaper sections
  • Extracting information and look for clues

All registrants will have unlimited access to the recordings for personal use, including the ability to download and save the recordings. Recordings, along with the access password, will be made available within 48 hours of the end of the webinars.

 

Presenter/Moderator Bios

Michelle Patient – Presenter/Moderator

Having written and spoken, both within New Zealand and overseas, Michelle Patient brings a wide ranging background to her presentations and enjoys combining education with entertainment. Whether you are new to researching your tree or you have been climbing branches for years, her talks aim to provide tools and tips to help you not only advance your research, but to do so more easily and confidently.

Having written and spoken, both within New Zealand and overseas, Michelle Patient brings a wide ranging background to her presentations and enjoys combining education with entertainment. Whether you are new to researching your tree or you have been climbing branches for years, her talks aim to provide tools and tips to help you not only advance your research, but to do so more easily and confidently.

Thomas MacEntee – Presenter/Moderator

Thomas MacEntee

What happens when a “tech guy” with a love for history gets laid off during The Great Recession of 2008? You get Thomas MacEntee, a genealogy professional who’s also a blogger, educator, author, social media connector, marketer, network builder and more.

Thomas was laid off after a 25-year career in the information technology field, so he started building his own genealogy-related business called High Definition Genealogy. He’s also created an online community of over 3,000 family history bloggers known as GeneaBloggers. His most recent endeavor, Hack Genealogy, is an attempt to “re-purpose today’s technology for tomorrow’s genealogy.”

 

How To Register

Ready to join in this great educational event? Here are the details on the registration process:




  • Click the button above to go to PayPal and make payment or click here. You do not need a PayPal account to make payment.
  • IMPORTANT: If you use a different email address for Paypal than your normal email address PLEASE LET US KNOW! We have not way of sending you the registration link or password otherwise! Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.
  • Once payment is processed and received, you will receive a confirmation email. You will also receive a link to register for the webinar.
  • Then you’ll be reminded via e-mail at least one day prior to Boot Camp.
  • Within 24 hours of the start of Boot Camp, you’ll receive the password for the webinar as well as links to the handout and freebie so you can review them before we start.
  • After the webinar, all registrants will have unlimited access to the recordings for personal use for up to one (1) year, including the ability to download and save the recordings. A password will be required to access the video page.

Questions? Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.

Terms and Conditions

Please read the Terms and Conditions for all Hack Genealogy Boot Camp events before you pay and register! Click here for more information.

©2015, copyright Thomas MacEntee

Genealogy Do-Over: Week 2 – My Own Progress So Far

Thomas MacEntee of GeneaBloggers describes his own Week 2 progress for the Genealogy Do-Over.

So in Week 2 of the Genealogy Do-Over, we have the tasks of collecting information about our own lives, interviewing other family members about the family history, and setting research goals. Again, like almost everything in the Genealogy Do-Over, while it may look easy on the surface, each topic does require some effort, some thinking and quite a bit of work. I prefer to look at it all as an “investment” and I’m taking the time to “do it right” if I’m going to actually succeed in this do-over!

A Family Group Sheet Issue – Removing the Bias

As I stated over at the Genealogy Do-Over Facebook Group, I am partial to a set of fillable PDF forms produced by the folks at Family Tree Magazine. Called Essential Family Tree Forms CD, there is a great family group sheet form that is easy to use.

But because I want to look at other types of forms, I tried using one that I found on the Internet. Let’s just say I realized there was a definite bias when I opened the form:

biased family group sheet

  • The Husband is listed at the top of the form and it is the only person with an Occupation field available. I guess women don’t have occupations.
  • The Wife is listed under the Husband.

So I’ve reconfigured this family group sheet so that the Husband is now listed as Person and the Wife is listed as Spouse. And both of them are allowed to have occupations.

family group sheet

Download the Biased Family Group Sheet and compare it to the Reconfigured Family Group Sheet.

My Week 2 Progress

So far, this is what I’ve done:

  • Self Interview – Family Group Sheet: I filled out a family group sheet for myself and named it using my preferred file naming convention.
  • Biography: I also did a quick one page biography outlining my major life events and where I have lived over the past fifty plus years.
  • Other Family Group Sheets: Having been told the birth dates and places of my parents and when they got married, I also created separate family group sheets for each of my parents, listing myself and my younger brother Michael as the children.
  • Family Member Interviews: I don’t have many older relatives left and some just don’t want to discuss family history. When my great uncle Gregory Austin died in December 2013, he was the last of that generation and I regret not interviewing him years ago about family history. I do remember the stories that my great grandparents John Ralph Austin and Therese Austin told, and I’ve constructed family group sheets based on my recall. In addition, my aunt Patricia Larsen May produced rudimentary family group sheets for a family reunion in 1991. So I set those aside last week and I will use them to populate other family group sheets and generate more research goals.
  • Set Research Goals: Once my family group sheets were finished, I created a Microsoft Word document listing my research goals:Prove birth date of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove birth location of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove baptism date of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove baptism location of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove father name of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove mother name of Thomas MacEntee.
    Prove marriage date of Richard MacEntee and Jacqueline Austin.
    Prove marriage location of Richard MacEntee and Jacqueline Austin.
    Etc.
  • File Management: Since I moved all my original research to a HOLD Genealogy folder on my C drive of my desktop, I’ve created a new Genealogy folder and then this week created two sub-folders: Templates and Family Group Sheets.- Templates is where I will story any form-type documents that I use over and over again such as a research log, a to do list, a family group sheet. This is where I go for those forms and I create a copy that I place in another sub-folder as needed.genealogy folder- Family Group Sheets is where I store all family group sheets for my research. These serve as my “intake” forms and from them I populate my research goals and try to prove data points (such as a birth date or location) or relationships. Since I am trying to remove what I see as a bias in family group sheets (where the husband is the main focus), I will need to create two for each family: one where the husband is the primary person and one where the wife is the primary person.

family group sheets

* * *

Are you ready for Week 3? I am and I’ll post the topics, information and resources for Week 3 of the Genealogy Do-Over at GeneaBloggers on Friday 16 January 2015.

©2015, copyright Thomas MacEntee. All rights reserved.

Research Right – Tracking and Evaluating Your Genealogy Research Boot Camp – 17 January 2015

Learn how to use a genealogy research log, source citation templates, and evidence evaluation features at the Research Right Boot Camp at HackGenealogy

Do you struggle with tracking your genealogy research and staying organized? Do you have trouble finding an image or document you downloaded last week? And what about source citations . . . do you panic when it comes time to document your research?

You are not alone. More and more genealogists and family historians have a strong desire to break bad habits and research using more efficient methods. The Research Right Boot Camp offers a simple way to track research, cite sources and analyze data before it gets added to your genealogy database software.

Through this special Boot Camp you’ll learn not just better research habits but tips and tricks to become a better researcher.

  • Learn how to use a research log that suits your research habits.
  • Understand the basics of source citations and become efficient at creating citations on the fly.
  • Maintain good research habits and adapt them when encountering new records sets.
  • Learn how to state a proof, evaluate evidence and reach a conclusion for each specific data points on records.

You’ll receive over 3 hours of educational content, handouts and freebies for the low price of $12.95! You’ll also receive access to the recorded versions of each webinar for up to one year!

Register by Monday, 12 January 2015 and receive $3 off the registration price for a low $9.95! Space is limited and if you register but can’t attend, you’ll still receive the handouts, the freebies and access to the recordings!

Schedule

Saturday 17 January 2015
Duration: 3.5 hours (with a 30 minute break)

  • 11:00 am EST /10:00 am CST
    Welcome / Meet & Greet
  • 11:15 am EST / 10:15 am CST
    Using and Managing a Genealogy Research Log
    Thomas MacEntee
  • 12:30 pm EST/11:30 am CST
    Break
  • 1:00 pm EST /12:00 pm CST
    Citing Sources and Evaluating Evidence
    Thomas MacEntee
  • 2:30 pm EDT / 1:30 pm CDT
    Closing and Thank You

Webinars

Using and Managing a Genealogy Research Log

  • You’ll learn how to access and use a genealogy research log that is spreadsheet-based (either Excel or Google Drive). We’ll also cover other alternatives including Microsoft Word tables. In addition, we’ll discuss the importance of using a “to do list” when attempting to research a specific ancestor. We’ll also track our searches using the Search Attempts tab on the research log. Finally, you’ll learn how to make additions or deletions to your own research log, so you can customize one to your own liking and research habits.

Citing Sources and Evaluating Evidence

  • You’ll learn how to use the source citation templates, evidence evaluation features, as well as how to add/remove features to create a customized research log of your own. A good deal of time will be spent on citing sources and resources to make the process easier. In addition, we’ll cover how to look at a record and evaluate the evidence to determine if it proves or disproves the proof point. Finally, you’ll see how you can add new source citation templates, add new columns and more.

All registrants will have access to the recordings for personal use for a period of one (1) year. Recordings will be hosted on Vimeo and set to play only on a specific website (at hackgenealogy.com). A password will be required to access the video pages.

Presenter/Moderator Bios

Thomas MacEntee – Presenter

Thomas MacEntee

What happens when a “tech guy” with a love for history gets laid off during The Great Recession of 2008? You get Thomas MacEntee, a genealogy professional who’s also a blogger, educator, author, social media connector, marketer, network builder and more.

Thomas was laid off after a 25-year career in the information technology field, so he started building his own genealogy-related business called High Definition Genealogy. He’s also created an online community of over 3,000 family history bloggers known as GeneaBloggers. His most recent endeavor, Hack Genealogy, is an attempt to “re-purpose today’s technology for tomorrow’s genealogy.”

Lisa Alzo – Moderator

Lisa A. Alzo

Lisa A. Alzo is a freelance writer, instructor, and lecturer with over 20 years’ experience in the field of genealogy. She earned a Master of Fine Arts degree in Nonfiction Writing from the University of Pittsburgh, and is the author of nine books, including: Finding Your Slovak Ancestors, Writing Your Family History Book, and the award-winning Three Slovak Women. Lisa has written hundreds of articles and her work has appeared in Family Tree Magazine, Family Chronicle, Internet Genealogy, APG Quarterly, among others. An internationally recognized speaker, Lisa blogs as “The Accidental Genealogist” blog http://www.theaccidentalgenealogist.com. For more information see http://www.lisaalzo.com.

How To Register

Ready to join in this great educational event? Here are the details on the registration process:




  • Click the button above to go to PayPal and make payment or click here. You do not need a PayPal account to make payment.
  • IMPORTANT: If you use a different email address for Paypal than your normal email address PLEASE LET US KNOW! We have not way of sending you the registration link or password otherwise! Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.
  • Once payment is processed and received, you will receive a confirmation email. You will also receive a link to register for the webinar.
  • Then you’ll be reminded via e-mail at least one day prior to Boot Camp.
  • Within 24 hours of the start of Boot Camp, you’ll receive the password for the webinar as well as links to the handout and freebie so you can review them before we start.
  • After the webinar, all registrants will have access to the recording for personal use for a period of one (1) year. The recording will be hosted on Vimeo and set to play only on a specific page here at Hack Genealogy. A password will be required to access the video pages.

Questions? Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.

Terms and Conditions

Please read the Terms and Conditions for all Hack Genealogy Boot Camp events before you pay and register! Click here for more information.

©2015, copyright Thomas MacEntee