Splog Alert – genealogywebsite.info

Stop Content Theft

They’re back! It appears to be the same person or group as our other violators! Again, they are stealing content from GeneaBloggers.com as well as other genealogy blogs.  Each time, they use a different name, a new domain, the same hosting company but is stupid enough to use the same template and graphics.  Still, they don’t learn . ..

If you remember, we’ve had to battle this person who used to run thegenealogy.ingo, genealogyplace.info, and  genealogygen.com.  The sites are almost identical in their look, content and their spamminess.

Thanks to Google Alerts and the use of pingbacks on all my blogs, I realized my content was being stolen.  Here’s the story:

Offender: genealogywebsite.info

The latest violator – a site called genealogywebsite.info  (http://genealogywebsite.info) which is registered to a Victor Pow.  Here is the email I just sent to him:

Hello Victor Pow

I am the owner of GeneaBloggers.com and via Google Alerts today I found that my recent blog posts have been used at the genealogywebsite.info website which, according to the WHOIS record, is owned by you, Victor Pow:

Domain ID:D44188379-LRMS
Created On:21-Nov-2011 15:18:37 UTC
Last Updated On:20-Jan-2012 20:39:18 UTC
Expiration Date:21-Nov-2012 15:18:37 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:eNom, Inc. (R126-LRMS)
Registrant ID:7fd7ac668e3d9ef7
Registrant Name:Victor Pow
Registrant Organization:
Registrant Street1:Blk 56 #07-169
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Singapore
Registrant State/Province:Singapore
Registrant Postal Code:100056
Registrant Country:SG
Registrant Phone:+65.96567116
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:vpkc@hotmail.com

The post in question is: http://genealogywebsite.info/new-genealogy-blogs-september-8-2012-geneabloggers

I am formally requesting that you immediately remove these posts from your site on the basis that they violate the copyright on my intellectual property. You have stolen my content without my permission. Your use of GeneaBloggers content does not fall within the Fair Use doctrine of US Copyright laws. In addition, you are using your own name as author on all of these articles giving the impression that this is your content.

Please remove all GeneaBloggers content immediately and no later than 5:00 pm Central Daylight Time, Friday, October 12, 2012 and email confirmation to me at geneabloggers@gmail.com once content is removed. You may also reimburse me at the rate of $500 per article if you choose. Either way, please let me know which option you choose.

If content is not removed by 5:00 pm Central Daylight Time, Friday, October 12, 2012, I will pursue all legal remedies including filing a DMCA complaint with Google and with your Internet service provider, Host Gator.

Finally, I am notifying many of my colleagues in the genealogy industry from whom you’ve also misappropriated content.  Since such theft on your site is so pervasive, I will most likely need to alert my community of over 2,800 genealogy bloggers via blog post at GeneaBloggers and have them check your site for their own content. GeneaBloggers has a long history of representing its members in the fight against splogs and content theft – please see http://www.geneabloggers.com/tag/content-theft/ for past occasions where we have successfully won each and every case of content theft.

Please email me if you have any questions.

The Offense

genealogywebsite.info is stealing content from genealogy bloggers.  It is copying entire posts and it not linking back to the original post.  In addition, the site appears to be making a profit from affiliate advertising, Google AdSense, links, etc.

What Can You Do?

Contact Victor Pow at vpkc@hotmail.com using the WHOIS information listed above. Use a cease and desist notice and tell him that your original content is being used and your copyright violated.

Insist that he remove your content or you will contact genealogywebsite.info’s web hosting company (Host Gator) and file a DMCA complaint. Click here to access Host Gator’s hard-to-find online complaint form.

I also recommend, if possible, that you post at the comments for each post using your content and link back to this post.  At the very least, they’ve been “called out” here at GeneaBloggers and this info will show up in Google search results.


All readers of GeneaBloggers know – as do our members – that it isn’t playing fair when you have to steal content from others who have worked so hard to document their genealogy journey.

Don’t forget our resource page on Blog Copyright and Content Theft!

GeneaBloggers will always fight the good fight against opportunists who want to ride the current wave of popularity surrounding family history and only take from our community without giving back.

© 2012, copyright Thomas MacEntee

Print Friendly


Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...